Sam Wins Again in Mildura

By |2017-01-10T20:34:28+00:00January 10th, 2017|Categories: SPEEDWAY|

Newcastle rider Sam Masters took out round two of the Australian Solo Speedway Championship Series at Olympic Park Speedway on Saturday night. Masters lead from start to finish ahead of Max Fricke, Davey Watt and the excluded Justin Sedgmen.

Masters has made it no secret of his liking to the Olympic Park track after winning the Phil Crump International Trophy earlier in the Australian season.

Despite two air fence crashes for the night Mildura’s Justin Sedgmen remains second in the Australian solo speedway titles after the second round was held at Mildura’s Olympic Park speedway on Saturday night.

Sedgmen crashed heavily in the second race of the night, causing some injury to his shoulder but he came back to win his next four heats in style and then put in an electrifying finish to take out the b Final in the last 20 metres.

The Mildura rider was in second place behind defending champion Brady Kurtz as the pair charged together for the whole race.

Kurtz was still in front around the final corner but Sedgmen charged through to snatch victory right on the line.

He had been pushed back to the B Final after three riders – Max Fricke, Sam Masters and Davey Watt – finished with 13 points after the 20 heats. By having four wins Sedgmen finished with 12 points.

For the final Fricke picked gate one, Davey Watt gate two, Masters picked three and Sedgmen began from the outside.

But disaster struck on the first bend with the field drifting up the track leaving Sedgmen with no racing room as he hit the air fence.

After the race Sedgmen described the decision by the steward as a “joke”.

“But from time to time these things happen in speedway,” he said.

The local crowd was a little dumbstruck by the decision and even speedway visitors thought a re-start for the whole field would have been the better decision.

In the re-run Fricke and Masters were quick to battle it out with Davey Watt back third.

It was a great final with Masters just getting the lead to win by a bike length. Watt had dropped back with clutch trouble in the final lap.

“I kind of like this track,’ Masters said after the winning the A Final.

There was a sensation in heat six when the bike of Troy Batchelor caught fire in the back straight as it began to slow down.

A stunned Batchelor had to jump off and within a few seconds his main bike was engulfed in flames

Round Two Australian Solo Speedway titles at Mildura.

13 –  Max Fricke, Sam Masters, Davey Watt

12- Justin Sedgmen

10- Brady Kurtz

8 – Troy Batchelor, Nick Morris, Josh Pickering

7 – Jack Holder

6- Jaimon Lidsey

5 – Jordan Stewart, Ty Proctor

4- Mason Campton, Todd Kurtz

3 – Rohan Tungate

2 – Cooper Riordan

Coomy Club B Final: Justin Sedgmen 1; Brady Kurtz 2; Nick Morris 3, Troy Batchelor 4. Time 59.56 seconds

Coomy Club A Final: Sam Masters 1, Max Fricke 2; Davey Watt 3, Justin Sedgmen (excluded)


32-  Davey Watt

29– Justin Sedgmen

27 – Sam Masters

25 – Max Fricke

22 – Nick Morris

20- Troy Batchelor

15 – Brady Kurtz

13 – Rohan Tungate, Josh Pickering, Jack Holder

11- Jaimon Lidsey, Ty Proctor

9 – Todd Kurtz

7 – Jordan Stewart, Mason Campton

6 – Cooper Riordan



About the Author:

Kendall Jennings, KAJX Communications photojournalist since 2002. KAJX: Kendall A. Jennings (Photojournalist), who is a big The X-Files fan (what the X stands for in KAJX) and motorcycling fan. “I am extremely passionate about motorcycles and have been riding a motorcycle since I was 4 years old. I was introduced to the world of motocross racing in 1998 and haven’t looked back. Everyone should experience motorcycling whether it be a rider, passenger, racer, official or spectator. KAJX is all about sharing the motorcycling love. I am honest, opinioned and if I don't know something I will say so and then educate myself to provide an answer. Living is learning. I worked as a Motorcycle Spare Parts Manager for 15 years, I am also a qualified Outdoor Power Equipment Mechanic.” Kendall Jennings.
Optimization WordPress Plugins & Solutions by W3 EDGE