Ferris maintains perfect 2018 streak in Thor MX1


[fusion_builder_container hundred_percent=”no” hundred_percent_height=”no” hundred_percent_height_scroll=”no” hundred_percent_height_center_content=”yes” equal_height_columns=”no” menu_anchor=”” hide_on_mobile=”small-visibility,medium-visibility,large-visibility” class=”” id=”” background_color=”” background_image=”” background_position=”center center” background_repeat=”no-repeat” fade=”no” background_parallax=”none” enable_mobile=”no” parallax_speed=”0.3″ video_mp4=”” video_webm=”” video_ogv=”” video_url=”” video_aspect_ratio=”16:9″ video_loop=”yes” video_mute=”yes” video_preview_image=”” border_size=”” border_color=”” border_style=”solid” margin_top=”” margin_bottom=”” padding_top=”” padding_right=”” padding_bottom=”” padding_left=””][fusion_builder_row][fusion_builder_column type=”1_1″ spacing=”” center_content=”no” link=”” target=”_self” min_height=”” hide_on_mobile=”small-visibility,medium-visibility,large-visibility” class=”” id=”” background_color=”” background_image=”” background_position=”left top” background_repeat=”no-repeat” hover_type=”none” border_size=”0″ border_color=”” border_style=”solid” border_position=”all” padding=”undefined” dimension_margin=”undefined” animation_type=”” animation_direction=”left” animation_speed=”0.3″ animation_offset=”” last=”no”][fusion_text columns=”” column_min_width=”” column_spacing=”” rule_style=”default” rule_size=”” rule_color=”” class=”” id=””]

AUSTRALIA, VICTORIA, GIPPSLAND. Round 3 of the 2018 MX Nationals at Wonthaggi Saturday, 19 May 2018. CDR Yamaha Monster Energy Team’s two-time defending Thor MX1 champion Dean Ferris has continued his relentless pursuit of the 2018 Pirelli MX Nationals title by dominating both MX1 races in the dark loam of Wonthaggi, Victoria.

In the first of two rounds to be hosted this weekend, Ferris convincingly won both races, while Raceline Pirelli KTM rookie Mitch Evans finished an impressive second overall, ahead of KTM Motocross Racing Team’s Luke Clout.

In the opening race of the weekend, Ferris leapt to the front and quickly showed the rest of the pack a clean pair of heels, extending his eventual victory lead to more than 35 seconds. Behind him, KTM Racing Team’s former MX Nationals champion Kirk Gibbs claimed second ahead of his teammate Clout, who scraped onto the podium after Penrite Honda Racing’s Brett Metcalfe experienced a mechanical problem on the final lap. Rhys Carter (Complete Parts Kawasaki Racing) finished fourth and Evans fifth.

In the MX1’s second outing, Gibbs grabbed the holeshot and pulled a small lead before crashing out of contention on the second lap. Gibbs’ misfortune granted Ferris the lead, which he held unchallenged to the chequered flag. Evans finished a remarkable second ahead of fellow rookie, Davey Motorsports Husqvarna’s Caleb Ward, while Clout and Metcalfe rounded out the top five.


1 Dean Ferris (Yamaha) 70

2 Mitch Evans (KTM) 58

3 Luke Clout (KTM) 58

4 Caleb Ward (Husqvarna) 54

5 Rhys Carter (Kawasaki) 52

6 Dylan Long (Yamaha) 48

7 Kade Mosig (Husqvarna) 47

8 Connor Tierney (Yamaha) 42

9 Daniel Milner (KTM) 42

10 Mitch Norris (KTM) 37